

Federal Highway Administration Wisconsin Division Office 525 Junction, Suite 8000 Madison, WI 53717-2157

August 7, 2024

Ms. Stephanie Hacker, Executive Director Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission W239 N1812 Rockwood Drive P.O. Box 1607 Waukesha, WI 53187



Federal Transit Administration Region 5 Office 200 W. Adams Street, Suite 320 Chicago, IL 60606-5232

Subject: Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission Federal Certification

Dear Ms. Hacker:

This letter notifies you that the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) jointly certify the planning process for the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC). This certification is based on the findings from the Federal Certification Review conducted on July 23-24, 2024. The Certification Review Report will be forthcoming and will document the evaluation of the region's planning practices and include specific Findings and Recommendations/Commendations based on the Federal requirements.

The overall conclusion of the Certification Review is that the planning process for the SEWRPC complies with the spirit and intent of Federal metropolitan transportation planning laws and regulations under 23 USC 134 and 49 USC 5303. The planning process at SEWRPC is a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive process and reflects a significant professional commitment to deliver quality in transportation planning.

We would like to thank Chris Hiebert and the SEWRPC staff for their time and assistance in planning and conducting the review and public meeting. If you have any questions regarding the Certification Review process and/or the Certification action, please direct them to either Mr. Karl Buck of the FHWA Wisconsin Division, at (608) 829-7501, or Mr. Bill Wheeler of the FTA Region 5 Office, at (312) 353-2639.

Sincerely yours,

KELLEY BROOKINS Date: 2024.08.07

Digitally signed by KELLEY BROOKINS

Kelley Brookins Regional Administrator Federal Transit Administration Sincerely yours,

LINDA K SWANN

Digitally signed by LINDA K SWANN Date: 2024.08.13 15:25:43 -05'00'

Glenn Fulkerson **Division Administrator** Federal Highway Administration ecc: Justin Shell, WisDOT

Chuck Wade, WisDOT

Matthew Sorenson, WisDOT

Tony Barth, WisDOT

Andrew Levy, WisDOT

Kory Dercks, WisDOT

Chris Chritton, WisDOT

Ian Ritz, WisDOT

Chris Hiebert, SEWRPC

Benjamin McKay, SEWRPC

Ryan Hoel, SEWRPC

Libby Larsen, SEWRPC

Eric Lynde, SEWRPC

Nikki Payne, SEWRPC

Jennifer Sarnecki, SEWRPC

Tom Winter, MCTS

Brian Engelking, City of Waukesha

Nelson Ogbuagu, Kenosha Area Transit

Andrew Davis, City of Milwaukee Streetcar

Charles Cofta, Washington County Transit

Anthony Geiger, Milwaukee County DOT

Bill Wheeler, FTA

Evan Gross, FTA

Erin Ludwig, FTA

Ellis Combes, FTA

Kelley Brookins, FTA

Glenn Fulkerson, FHWA

Linda Swann, FHWA

David Jolicoeur, FHWA

Karl Buck, FHWA

Mary Forlenza, FHWA

Jason Nordberg, FHWA

Madalena Maestri, FHWA

Josh Pachniak, FHWA

Chris Brown, FHWA